Leave a comment

Gaming Thursday

I not sure if I’m a hard-core enough gamer to do this bit every week, but I’ll see.

Planeshift, possibly the most used MMORPG in Linux, I discovered, can really can be used on my MacBook!  yeah! I hadn’t seen anyone attempt it yet. In fact, a couple posts I read in the Planeshift Forums didn’t think an on-board graphic processor would be able to do it.

My first attempt at the Planeshift ebuild a couple months ago was initially very impressive, but unfortunately, as I started to get intoJunction West it, I found out that an area outside the city, towards the North, was having large drawing problems. (Just left of the junction in the pic).  Planeshift would crunch to a 5fps crawl, or just freeze entirely, so I reluctantly gave up on it.

Last week, because I needed something new to play, I got to trying the Planeshift binary. I had originally tried this on OS X six months ago and was very unimpressed. So I had little hope this time, and my suspicions were confirmed as I got no more than 5 frames per second once again.

I nice fellow named loux has been building Planeshift ebuilds for a bit now. Planeshift is no longer in portage because of, well one developer called it “dependency hell”. Planeshift uses modified versions of both cel and crystalspace, and is frequently updated. loux is a great guy though and will help you out in case you need it, but it was really simple actually. I began by downloading the ebuilds and adding them to the local overlay. Then simply just, “emerge planeshift”. Read the link above if you need more info.

I noticed this time the USE flag “maxoptimizations” had been added, and I was sure to add it. You’ll notice Planeshift will pull in “nvidia-cg-toolkit”.  This was odd to me because I have an Intel card. But Xordon in the forums was kind enough to tell me that, “nvidia-cg-toolkit runs on both ATI, Nvidia and Intel graphics cards. It’s just made by Nvidia.” Thanks Xordon.

Installation takes a day and a half. Ok, that may be exaggerating but with cellps, crystalspaceps and the artwork, it’s over 300MB. Oddly enough, it will still emerge a binary (PlaneShift_CBV0.3.019-x86.bin, the installer I think), which the ebuild will extract the artwork.

So after I got alot of other tidbits done. It finished. Emerging Planeshift will install these three scripts you will need to execute the game with:
‣ >>> /usr/games/bin/pssetup.sh
‣ >>> /usr/games/bin/psclient.sh
‣ >>> /usr/games/bin/psupdater.sh

loux, the ebuild creator, said the game is up to date, so I’m not bothering with the updater. I started with pssetup.sh.

I started setting all minimal values since I this graphic processor isn’t know for power. hmm… some default setting are messing things up. AfterPlaneshift errors a couple crashes (make sure you turn off compiz first). I think I have a nice setup. Apparently the i810 isn’t able to process certain textures at certain settings. There are TS(?) OpenGL extentions that aren’t supported just yet by the i810 driver. They’re disabled in gldrivers.xml, but some users have seen issues if you don’t tell an exact version of mesa.

geany /opt/planeshift/bin/data/config/gldrivers.xml
geany /opt/planeshift/crystalspace/etc/crystalspace-1.1/gldrivers.xml

Find and replace this line with:

<regexp string="glversion" pattern="Mesa 6\.5\.." />
<regexp string="glversion" pattern=".\.. Mesa 6\.5\.3" />

Or whatever you version of mesa is.  I have learn you cannot play Planeshift at this time with setting “Texture Downsampling” to 1/1 – certain areas like the forest, mentionedPlaneshift Preferences earlier, north of the city will have troubles and your framerate will literally come to a freeze. Here are my settings and a couple notes:
‣ Anisotrophy filtering set too high will lead to trailing.
‣ I set FPS cap in the in-game setting to 13 though I’m not sure this made any change.
It isn’t perfect, as with many games for the i810 driver, it just doesn’t feel complete yet. Like transparency, it words but some textures aren’t appearing. Also my Icon menu, I haven’t located anything on fixing it.

icon menu

Everything else is alright though. Animation is smooth, the square, where lots of people are, doesn’t have issues, and there viewable depth is pleasant. Overall I’m liking it and beginning to feel hope.

About Gen2ly

<3's linux

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

