A Little Soul

Anybody knows me knows I love the Blues.  And for something as awesome as a Blues lick, I need a player just as good.  I jumped into the merits of MPD yesterday – lightweight, fast.  But didn’t mention on any clients to use with it.

I touched on Sonata in a previous sitdown.  Sonata’s a nice GUI client for MPD.  I wrote that Sonata has the finest GUI in the business.  Having come from Rhythmbox and Exaie it was nice to see a client that didnt hog the entire screen.  Sonata has the ability to do radio streams on the net as well.

The next two MPD clients I tried, Gimmix and GMPC, aren’t as feature complete as Sonata, this leaves Sonata as the GUI champ, but they have their own.

Gimmix-4

Gimmix is coded in C and GMPC, well I’m not sure, but both take ittle time to load.  I’ll start with Gimmix.

Gimmix-2

Since MPD is a daemon my music directory was already set.  Gimmix asked me to define the settings which just confused me, so I bypassed the setup.

Gimmix started nearly instantaneously.  I’m used to waiting a bit for my music player to start, with Gimmix… nothing.  Absolutely amazing.  This helps people like me that forget what song they like to listen waiting for a program to start.  Besides this though, unfortunately, Gimmix feel short.  Gimmix wasn’t real intuitive for me to learn.  After a bit of searching I discovered you have to hit the + to find your music collection.

So, then I setup the library window size and position but Gimmix doesn’t want to save it.

Then I do finagle all my settings, open the library, add music the the player and, CRASH!  A little bug, but I discover that the “play music immediately” preference setting causes this.

Gimmix-3

So Gimmix had it’s issues, hopefully the author will release another version soon, as being written in C, it feels solid.  As I entered the bug I noticed a couple of the previous issues had been resolved, so..

With the Gimmix tiny straw,  I decided to try GMPC.

GMPC started nearly as quickly.  This is becoming a nice feature to me.  Though how much I Sonata is champ of GUI, it’s dependency of python doesn’t allow for quick startups.  I saw this too with Exaile.  I’m not sure what GMPC is written in but it feels nearly as responsive as Gimmix did.  GMPC has more features than Gimmix, for one a library thats integrated and plugin support.

Gimmix-5

I am happy to say that GMPC is my new music player  As I mentioned before, I can’t play radio streams from the net with it, which is a big bug for me, otherwise I’m pretty happy.  Only thing I had a trouble about is that I could find a place to have GMPC stop the music when I exit GMPC.

About Gen2ly

<3's linux

Posted on 2007-08-21, in Linux. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

