6 Comments

How I Learned to Stop Killing Myself and Learn Vim


When I first started Linux, I fired up “Text Editor” and almost collapsed. What the hell was that? I like many Windows and Mac users, hit this bird on the first flyover of Linux. Now I could have used Open Office but I’m an old dog, and if I’m gonna be taught new tricks they better be damn good ones.

So I needed to bold a word in gedit, and couldn’t find a bold button in the title bar. “I can’t even bold what the !@#$.” This was my first foray in real text editor.

Why Not Bold

Once I was forced to use gedit, and hence to transfer the document to another computer and another application, I began to love how simple it was. It just worked. There were a few bolds and underlines to put in and that was it. Having manually converted documents like AppleWorks previously, I didn’t mind doing this.

Vim is Alot of Talk

People on the forums talked alot using Vim, and I thought “that archaic editor”. I’ve heard of it in the early days of computing and just decided to stay away from vi(vim). As the more I got involved in Linux and needing to do more complex tasks, the more my searchs found people talking about it. So, I gave Vim a try thinking that this will be a ten minute exercise before I frustratingly jack hammered the keyboard. What has occurred is a love affair of sorts (don’t get excited) and I haven’t looked back much since.

How to Start

I began by the Gentoo Wiki which has a nice basic tutorial for Vim. There is, as well, vimtutor that is installed with Vim, which I didn’t know at the time – oh well. I learned the basics (and they can be learned in about an hour) then I became free to begin typing.

Customizing

Of all the details I’ve read of vim, the most I’ve read over is how people customize Vim to their particular needs. The Vim homepage contains thousands of scripts to vary and add to the uses of the editor.

Vim isn’t everything but it tells me whats most important about writing – letters. In fact I’m typing this post on Vim and even posting from it.

How I Learned to Stop Killing Myself and Learn Vim

Tomorrow, I’ll talk about customizing Vim and a few basic tips to setting it up.

About Gen2ly

<3's linux

6 comments on “How I Learned to Stop Killing Myself and Learn Vim

  1. Do you have a nice way to use vim for blogposting or did you copypaste the text after finishing it in vim ?

  2. I use a plugin called vimpress. I’ll be writing about it tomorrow.

  3. Very interesting. I am still not certain why VIM would be a good idea so I’m waiting for your next post to find out ;)

  4. The next step, if you haven’t taken it already, would be to learn to write
    documents in a typesetting system such as LaTeX.

    When I started using LaTeX for my own documents, I gave up word processors
    entirely.

    http://www.ctan.org/tex-archive/documentation/beginlatex/html/

  5. hmmm … (eyebrows raise)

  6. I know I’m a month or so behind in commenting, but for posterity: the reason to learn a vi derivative is due to its ubiquity. If you do not plan on logging in to anyone else’s system, but all means: skip it. If you do (and you don’t (learn at least rudimentary vi, that is)) you will eventually find yourself on a system that doesn’t have nano, emacs, pico, etc.. installed. You will be sad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

