2 Comments

Wesnoth QC

Wesnoth QCI regularly get to play Wesnoth which is by far my favorite game for this computer. I have to say technically Wesnoth 1.4 is very well done, but the more I play it the more I’m left with that thought Calvin’s dad jibbed once, “Often the anticipation is better than the acutal event.” So far I’ve played a couple campaigns and I’m getting that Calvin “air let out” feeling. As high a caliber a game as Wesnoth is, the scene is set, the newpaper helmets adorned, the water-ballons ready… but where’s Suzy?

There are the flagships, Wesnoth’s mighty vessels like the original campaign, the Scepter of Fire and Under the Burning Suns yet no other campaign really comes to mind. Seven new campaigns were entered into Wesnoth 1.4. I have yet only tried three. But it isn’t the amazing Wesnoth open-source standard I’ve known so far. I expressed this to the developers in the Wesnoth Forums. For those that play regularly or any that have an opinion, I’d like to hear it.

About Gen2ly

<3's linux

2 comments on “Wesnoth QC

  1. I played through the Rise of Wesnoth, which I really enjoyed. I don’t know if it was added in 1.3 or before.

    An Orcish incursion was a bit hard, even at easy.
    I’m currently playing through The Eastern Invasion, don’t have a real opinion on it yet.
    I must say that having played Wesnoth since version 0.7, the quality of the new campaigns is well above that of the core campaigns during that era. It just takes a lot of time and polishing to get the quality you see now in the original campaign.

  2. yes, there is certainly alot of polish to the original campaign.

    Alot of the campaigns it appears are written by people as their first time doing so. That said there’s a certain amount of trust that comes with inclusion that i dont’ feel in a few of the campaigns.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

