Calibration of a Samsung Series 3 350 32″ TV

This isn’t exactly Linux related but I thought I’d share my experiences on how I calibrated my TV. A great source on doing this is the LCD TV Buying Guide website. This is a great source on not only why TV’s need to be calibrated but also because it has settings for most popular models. Why do TV’s need to be calibrated? Basically most companies rig their TV settings so they look the best on the show floor. However this leads to things like picture tint, contrast exaggeration and other things that doesn’t reproduce the picture realistically. Even if your TV model doesn’t exist on the website, they say to look at a similar model that will a lot of times provide the settings you need. I found this to be true with one model of TV I had, but not another. Even if they have your model it doesn’t hurt to be a bit skeptical. I found for my model I had to change a few settings a tad bit further. I’m going to print the settings now and then tell you how you can calibrate it too if you’re able to connect your computer to the TV. This TV has the model number LN32C350D1DXZA but is known as the model LN32C350.

Main
Picture Mode Standard
Backlight 10
Contrast 97
Brightness 55
Sharpness 36
Color 34
Tint G50/R50
Advanced Settings
Black Tone Off
Dynamic Contrast Off
Gamma 0
Color Space Auto
Flesh Tone 0
Edge Enhance Off
White Balance
Red Offset 18
Green Offset 15
Blue Offset 24
Red Gain 2
Green Gain 21
Blue Gain 10
Picture Options
Color Tone Cool
Size 16:9
Digital Noise Filter Off
HDMI Black Level Normal
Film Mode Off

The contrast is a bit stretched as to give a more in depth look, 92 is more accurate though.

Another good way to calibrate your TV is to use Lagom’s excellent computer monitor calibration tests. I always use this when I get a new computer monitor and it’s well worth the time if all else fails. Also another option is to use the THX video calibration that you will find on LucasArts movies (usually in the options menu).

Thanks to katzmaier at cnet forums for the basis if the white balance setting. Well that’s about it. If you haven’t messed around before with monitor calibration, I think you’ll find the doing so to be a pleasant experience.

A reasonable looking replication of how the TV looks after calibration

About Todd Partridge (Gently)

Good times, good people, good fun.

Posted on 2010-11-12, in Linux, Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have a question maybe you can help me with.The piture settings, and the Calibration and test results, are those settings from before you calibrated? or are those changes you made to suit your enjoyment? I have never messed with calibration before. I bad can I screw it up? Thanks for the help. Wayne

  2. How bad can I screw it up. Not ( I bad )

  3. Xbox is a really cool gadget, and I guess it’s understandable that it is so complicated and that there would come a time when we would experience some letdowns but it doesn’t erase the fact that it’s annoying to have xbox errors. I hope they could create something that will never breakdown, but that might be close to impossible.It would be nice for one to know how to fix the e74 xbox errors on your own.

  4. Good Afternoon, Reading this weblog is a real pleasure, Many thanks !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

