Lg monitor ips224v-pn, look

I decided to get the LS IPS224V-PN and here is a look at it. First thing I noticed was that the stand was a bit… rickety, probably from the thin neck. This does get noticed especially with the desktop I own, tetters. The second thing I noticed was how even the picture was: good, crisp, even, vibrant. The other thing I noticed was the permeating, yellow din that I’m familiar with with LEDs. This last thing can fortunately be adjusted).

Details Value
Contrast ratio 5,000,000:1
Resolution 1920×1080
Response time 14ms
Input D-Sub, DVI, HDMI
Output Headphone
IPS Yes

I’m not sure what ips is but I think it contributes to the nice viewing angle.

Setup was real easy, took no more than a few minutes and monitor calibration was basic.

Setting Default New
Brightness 100
Contrast 50 71
Color Temp Custom Cool

The color temperature of cool does a good job to neutralize the yellow color the LED; however the custom setting did better with pictures.

Alternate (yellow LED color remains):

Setting Default Alt.
Brightness 100
Contrast 50 67
Color Temp Custom
Red 50 46
Green 50 46
Blue 50 59

Ultimately I choose to use the cool temperature.

The power button is a large half-circle with an refracting light to indicate power-saving. However, it is extremely bright. There is an option to turn it off when the power is off, but it will still be seen in standby-mode; I’ve had to cover mine up.

I got this display for reading and it is good for that. Text looks very nice. But it also is good with pictures at least as far as my semi-professional eye is concerned. The 14ms (WTG?) response time is a bit on the high end. Videos do show a bit of “ghosting” but it doesn’t bother me that bad.

About Todd Partridge (Gently)

Good times, good people, good fun.

Posted on 2014-02-14, in Hardware, Linux. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

