Home directory organization

organizing-my-home-directory

Being a Type A personality, I’ve probably thought more about this than many. I have a certain organizational style and formatting schema that I consistently think about.

Folder layouts

I keep all my home directories about the same as everyone:

# cd ~; ls -1p
Audio/
Desktop/
Development/
Documents/
Downloads/
Pictures/
Public/
Videos/

One exception to the above is the “Audio” directory which I use for multiple audio types:

# tree -L 1 -d Audio/
Audio/
├── Audiobooks
├── Music
├── Other
└── Podcasts

The other exceptions is I also hide the Templates directory (.Templates) as I don’t use it often.

Desktop

Even though I use GNOME I’ve enabled the Desktop—this is my workspace. If I can see them, I can remember them.

# ls -1 Desktop/ | head -n 3
arch-install.md
arch-linux-wiki-css-box_00.svg
command-line-dictionary.md
...

Development

I’ve come to be a big fan of VCSs. If I build something that others can use on their computer, I’ll create a VCS for it. I’ve put all of these VCS directories in their own directory:

# tree -L 1 -F -i --dirsfirst Development/
_vault/
archpkgs/
armrr/
arpa/
ar-utils/
daeme/
dotfiles/
general-scripts/
rback/
wordnet-dict/
xuserrun/

Documents

I put all the Documents in one directory whether I wrote them or obtained them:

# ls -1p Documents/
Blog/
Guides/
Receipts/
_vault/
car-maintenance-schedule.ods
recipes.md
wish-list.md
work-schedule-weekly-two-person.xls

Pictures

I do the same with Pictures as I do my Documents; whether I designed, photographed, or obtained them, I put them here:

# ls -1p Pictures/ | head -n 7
Camera/
Designs/
Nostalgia/
_vault/
aqua pr09studios.png
arch-pseudo3d_PJ.svg
architectural-intent.svg

Naming conventions

For the major folders, I use single words with the first letter uppercase. For files and other folders, I try to keep to the somewhat-traditional Linux method of naming my files as lowercase. For spaces in files, I generally use a hyphen (-) which I see used a lot these days though I think an underscore was originally used. Underscores I will use if there is a category I would like separated in the name (portrait-of-bach_etching.svg).

Audio files

Read this post to learn how I organize my audio files.

Vaults

When I come across a file that I won’t use anymore, is outdated, a misdirection, I create a folder called _vault and I place them in it. I then always have them around as I find that sometimes I like to.